归因于硬质合金1的强度或韧性

硬质合金已经使用了近一个世纪。在此期间,它们已成为制造工具和要求高硬度和一定韧性的所有应用的常用材料。由于弹性和强度通常使用不同的名称,因此他们的用户有时会误认为彼此。这证明人们通常缺乏足够的硬质合金知识。

TRS –横向断裂强度

硬质合金的横向断裂强度的测定:ISO 3327

硬质合金的强度通过TRS测量,这是一个简单的三点弯曲测试。 TRS值代表工具的相对强度。 TRS测试也是产品质量水平的指标。硬质合金是一种较脆的材料,其强度受固有缺陷和缺陷的影响很大。因此,TRS平均值和TRS值的标准偏差CA也可以用作硬质合金的质量和性能指标。硬质合金的TRS值可以通过增加粘合剂含量和使用较小的晶粒尺寸来提高

根据经验,WC的拉伸强度约为横向断裂强度的一半。

在不同供应商的性能表中出现的硬质合金牌号的横向断裂强度值是基于上述标准测试的,因此仅反映了样本量的机械强度。许多应用工程师通常将TRS值用作某个级别的设计强度值,并使用它来指定某个级别在特定应用程序中应发挥作用,并期望该值是正确的。实际上,这些值随着零件尺寸的增加而减小,并且较大零件的设计强度值必须基于尺寸效果。因此,断裂韧性是评价立铣刀性能的良好指标。

断裂韧性强度

找到影响问题的确切解决方案可能非常复杂。冲击应力公式表明,应力直接随弹性模量变化,因此具有高弹性模量的硬质合金并不适合所有冲击应用。但是,考虑到硬质合金的硬度,特别是与25%钴粘合剂的粘结等级更高和晶粒结构较粗,它显示出令人惊讶的高冲击强度。

横向断裂强度(TRS)通常被误认为是评估硬质合金抗冲击性的指标。实际上,断裂韧性是评价硬质合金抗冲击性的较好指标。如图所示,断裂韧性随晶粒尺寸和粘合剂含量而变化。有关更多信息,请参见下面的palmqvist缩进测试。

归因于硬质合金2的强度或韧性

粘接强度

大多数碳化钨品牌的粘合剂是钴。在旋转工具中,粘合剂以重量百分比添加,从3%到15%不等。粘合剂的量是决定每个牌号性能的一个非常重要的因素。根据经验,钴含量越低,材料越硬。但是,粒径和添加剂的变化会破坏该规则。  

要注意的关键是钴的百分比是“按重量计”。如果一只手用钴立铣刀,另一只手用硬质合金立铣刀,您会感到重量上的差异。当我们说钴的重量为10%或12%时,实际上按体积计是较大的量。按重量计,钴的12%可以按体积换算大于20%。钴含量的增加通常会增加微型立铣刀所需的横向断裂强度和“韧性”,但您会牺牲一些“硬度”

黏合剂强度

压痕是确定硬质合金韧性的常用方法。材料的断裂韧性由临界应力强度因子K1C表征。韧性测试结果表明,材料的断裂韧性随钴含量和碳化钨晶粒尺寸的增加而增加。

抗压强度 

该性质也是硬质合金最重要的性质之一。韧性材料将在压缩载荷下膨胀或膨胀而不会破裂,但脆性材料将失效,这主要是由于剪切断裂而不是真正的压缩。与大多数其他材料相比,硬质合金具有较高的抗压强度,并且其值随着粘合剂含量和晶粒尺寸的减小而增加。根据晶粒尺寸和粘合剂含量,硬质合金的值通常在400k-900kpsi(7kn / m2)之间

抗弯强度

归因于硬质合金3的强度或韧性

材料的抗弯强度是指其在负载下抵抗变形的能力。对于具有明显变形但无断裂的材料,屈服载荷(通常在5%变形/外表面应变下测得)以弯曲强度或弯曲屈服强度报告。

error: Content is protected !!
zh_CN简体中文
en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol hi_INहिन्दी arالعربية pt_BRPortuguês do Brasil ru_RUРусский ja日本語 jv_IDBasa Jawa de_DEDeutsch ko_KR한국어 fr_FRFrançais tr_TRTürkçe pl_PLPolski viTiếng Việt zh_CN简体中文

Strength or Toughness Attributing to Cemented Carbide 1

Cemented carbide has been used for nearly a century. During this period, they have become common materials for manufacturing tools and all applications requiring high hardness and certain toughness. Because resilience and strength often come under different names, their users sometimes mistake them for each other. This proves that people generally lack sufficient knowledge of cemented carbide.

TRS – transverse fracture strength

Determination of transverse fracture strength of cemented carbide: ISO 3327

The strength of cemented carbide is measured by TRS, which is a simple three-point bending test. The TRS value represents the relative strength of the tool. TRS test is also an indicator of product quality level. Cemented carbide is a relatively brittle material, its strength is greatly affected by inherent defects and defects. Therefore, the standard deviation CA of TRS average value and TRS value can also be used as the quality and performance index of cemented carbide. The TRS value of cemented carbide can be increased by increasing binder content and using smaller grain size

According to experience, the tensile strength of WC is about half of the transverse fracture strength.

The values of the transverse fracture strength of the cemented carbide grades appearing in the performance tables of different suppliers are based on the above-mentioned standard tests, so only the mechanical strength of the sample size is reflected. Many application engineers usually take TRS value as the design strength value of a certain level, and use it to specify that a certain level should play a role in a specific application, expecting the value to be true. In fact, these values decrease with the increase of part size, and the design strength value of larger parts must be based on the size effect. Therefore, the fracture toughness is a good index to evaluate the performance of end mills.

Fracture toughness strength

Finding the exact solution to the impact problem can be very complex. The impact stress formula shows that the stress changes directly with the elastic modulus, so the cemented carbide with high elastic modulus is not suitable for all impact applications. However, considering the hardness of cemented carbide, especially the higher bond grade with 25% cobalt binder and coarser grain structure, it shows surprisingly high impact strength.

The transverse fracture strength (TRS) is usually mistaken as an index to evaluate the impact resistance of cemented carbide. In fact, the fracture toughness is a better index to evaluate the impact resistance of cemented carbide. As shown in the figure, the fracture toughness varies with the grain size and binder content. For more information, see palmqvist indentation test below.

Strength or Toughness Attributing to Cemented Carbide 2

Adhesive strength

The binder of most tungsten carbide brands is cobalt. In a rotating tool, the binder is added as a weight percentage, which varies from 3% to 15%. The amount of binder is a very important factor in determining the performance of each grade. According to experience, the lower the cobalt content, the harder the material will be. However, changes in particle size and additives can undermine this rule.  

The key point to note is that the percentage of cobalt is “by weight.”. If you have a cobalt end mill in one hand and a carbide end mill in the other, you will feel the difference in weight. When we say it’s a 10% or 12% weight of cobalt, it’s actually a larger amount by volume. By weight, 12% of cobalt can be converted to more than 20% by volume. The increase in cobalt content usually increases the transverse fracture strength and “toughness” required for micro end mills, but you will sacrifice some “hardness”

Binder Strength

Indentation is a common method to determine the toughness of cemented carbide. The fracture toughness of the material is characterized by the critical stress intensity factor K1C. The results of the toughness test show that the fracture toughness of the material increases with the increase of cobalt content and WC grain size.

Compressive Strength 

This property is also one of the most important properties of cemented carbide. The ductile material will expand or expand without fracture under compression load, but the brittle material will fail, which is mainly due to shear fracture rather than true compression. Compared with most other materials, cemented carbide shows high compressive strength, and the value increases with the decrease of binder content and grain size. According to the grain size and binder content, the value of cemented carbide is usually between 400k-900kpsi (7kn / m2)

Flexural strength

Strength or Toughness Attributing to Cemented Carbide 3

The flexural strength of material refers to its ability to resist deformation under load. For materials with significant deformation but no fracture, the yield load (usually measured at 5% deformation / strain of the outer surface) is reported as either flexural strength or flexural yield strength.

error: Content is protected !!
en_USEnglish
zh_CN简体中文 es_ESEspañol hi_INहिन्दी arالعربية pt_BRPortuguês do Brasil ru_RUРусский ja日本語 jv_IDBasa Jawa de_DEDeutsch ko_KR한국어 fr_FRFrançais tr_TRTürkçe pl_PLPolski viTiếng Việt en_USEnglish