机械密封的常见常见故障原因1

机械密封是一种防止流体泄漏的装置,由至少一对垂直于旋转轴的端面在液压,补偿机构的弹力(或磁力)和辅助密封的共同作用下组成。保持粘性并相对滑动。

机械密封的常见常见故障原因2

机械密封结构主要由以下要素组成:

1.固定环(stationary ring)

2.旋转环(动环)

3.弹性元件

4.弹簧座

5.固定螺丝

6.旋转环辅助密封圈

7.固定环辅助密封圈

防转销固定在压盖上,以防止固定环旋转。

机械密封具有密封性能可靠,泄漏少,使用寿命长,功率损耗小,适用范围广的优点。它被广泛用于各个技术领域,特别是在高速,高压差和昂贵,有毒和高腐蚀性工艺介质的工作条件下。同时,机械密封是设备最薄弱的环节之一。

为了延长其使用寿命,除了选择正确的摩擦副材料和正确的端面比压力外,正确的安装和维护也起着重要的作用。

本文通过日常维护实践,分析了机械密封失效和泄漏的主要原因。 

机械密封失效和泄漏的原因分析

化工设备中使用的机械密封的类型和型号多种多样,但主要有五个泄漏点:

①轴套与轴之间的密封;

②动环与轴套之间的密封;

③动环与静环之间的密封;

④固定环和固定环座之间的密封;

⑤密封端盖和泵体之间的密封件。

机械密封的常见常见故障原因3

动静环端面磨损引起的机械密封泄漏

无论哪种机械密封,其主要特征是密封面垂直于旋转轴,也就是说,将易于泄漏的轴向密封变为不易泄漏的端部密封。因此,机械密封失效的主要形式是静态和动态环之间的磨损失效。动环和静环的端部摩擦副主要通过弹簧推力压缩,以防止泄漏。动环和静环越紧,泄漏的可能性就越小,但它们之间的摩擦力也会增加。动环和静环的接触表面在大摩擦力的作用下会迅速磨损,最终无法泄漏。

由于不稳定的工艺条件和错误的安装而导致的机械密封泄漏

由于不稳定的工艺条件和不良的安装而引起的振动,以及设备的排空和汽化的瞬时断开将导致机械密封的动环和静环之间的液膜损坏,这将使机械密封“干燥”运行在不润滑的条件下。密封环的温度将迅速升高,其中一些会直接燃烧,其中一些会在泵返回正常工作状态时急剧冷却,从而形成热冲击和破碎。不良的冲洗液和条件也会引起热冲击,从而导致密封环出现径向裂纹,并增加动态和静态环的磨损故障。同时,当石墨环的温度超过使用温度时,晶体会沉淀在石墨环的表面,并且在较高温度的摩擦副附近会发生碳化,并且颗粒会进入摩擦副而形成。动环和静环会很快磨损。

机械密封的密封圈失效也是密封泄漏的主要原因

动,静环密封圈的组装是歪斜的;与密封圈配套的轴或套的表面光洁度不够,或配套尺寸过小;密封圈与密封介质之间的物理或化学反应,腐蚀,变形,老化等都可能导致泄漏。

组装不当导致机械密封泄漏

机械密封组装前,清洁机械密封部件不干净,部件有擦伤或刮伤;装配体不到位;弹簧组件有偏压,紧固螺钉未紧固。机械密封在拆卸等过程中损坏,这都是机械密封过早失效的原因。

机械密封件的选择和设计不当会导致机械密封件泄漏

由于化工厂工艺介质特性的多样性,机械密封设计的选择不当,密封端面的压力比小或大或密封材料的收缩大,很容易引起机械密封失效和泄漏。

解决方案

根据以上分析,应采取以下措施和维护方法,以延长机械密封的使用寿命。

弹簧压缩调整

调节弹簧的压缩量是为了调节机械密封端面的比压力,这与密封性能和使用寿命的重要参数以及密封的结构类型,弹簧尺寸和中压有关。如果端面的比压力太大,则摩擦副将损坏。如果比压过小,则容易泄漏,因此制造商通常会给出合适的范围,一般为3-6kg / cm2。弹簧的自由长度,弹簧刚度K(在产生单位压缩时承受的负载)和规定的比压力P都是制造商提供的参数。当压缩尺寸为B时,则p /(ab)= k,并且B = AP / K,这是弹簧安装的压缩尺寸。如果安装后弹簧的尺寸太大,则可以在弹簧座和弹簧之间增加调节垫的厚度。如果尺寸太小,则可以减小调节垫的厚度。调节垫的厚度应使用千分尺测量。

动环密封圈的密封性

动环的密封环太紧是有害且无用的。首先,它会加重密封环和轴套之间的磨损并引起过早泄漏。其次,会增加动环轴向调整和运动的阻力,在工作条件频繁变化时无法及时调整。第三,由于过度疲劳,弹簧很容易损坏。第四,会使动环的密封圈变形,影响密封效果。为了保证动环的浮动性,其内径要比轴径大0.5-1mm,用于补偿轴的振动和挠度,但间隙不能太大,否则密封动环的环将被夹紧,并且机械密封的机械性能将受到损害。密封环的密封性应在施加润滑剂后承受一只手的压力。

静环密封圈的密封性

静环密封件基本上处于静止状态,如果相对紧则密封效果会更好,但过紧会导致:首先,静环密封件会过度变形,从而影响密封效果。其次,静环材料主要是石墨,通常是脆性的,过大的应力容易导致破碎。第三,安装和拆卸困难,很容易损坏静环。因此,静环的内径通常比轴径大1-2mm,并且密封环的密封性在施加润滑剂后会受到双手的压力。如果可以轻轻地按入手,那会太松;如果无法用力按入手,则会太紧。

新旧印章更换

相对而言,使用新的机械密封的效果要好于旧的机械密封,但是当新的机械密封的质量或材料选择不正确时,配件尺寸误差会影响密封效果。在可聚合的深渗透性介质中,如果静环上没有过度磨损(当密封表面破裂,掉落,刮擦,麻点,飞边和偏心磨损,且刮伤和麻点贯穿整个密封面时,则为称为过度磨损),最好不要更换它。由于静环在静环座中长时间处于静止状态,因此聚合物和杂质整体沉积,从而起到更好的密封作用。

机械密封的常见常见故障原因4

大修

机械密封一旦泄漏,请勿急于拆除和修理。有时密封可能不会损坏。只有调整工作条件或适当调整密封件才能消除泄漏。例如,调整弹簧的压缩量,消除运行设备的振动,去除使弹簧失去弹性的秤,以及动静环的摩擦副上的秤。这样,不仅可以避免浪费,而且可以解决实际问题。同时可以验证其故障判断能力,积累维修经验,提高维修质量。

error: Content is protected !!
zh_CN简体中文
en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol hi_INहिन्दी arالعربية pt_BRPortuguês do Brasil ru_RUРусский ja日本語 jv_IDBasa Jawa de_DEDeutsch ko_KR한국어 fr_FRFrançais tr_TRTürkçe pl_PLPolski viTiếng Việt zh_CN简体中文

Main Common Malfunction Causes of Mechanical Seals 1

Mechanical seal is a device to prevent fluid leakage, which is composed of at least one pair of end faces perpendicular to the rotation axis under the action of fluid pressure, the elastic force (or magnetic force) of compensation mechanism and the cooperation of auxiliary seal to keep sticking and relatively sliding.

Main Common Malfunction Causes of Mechanical Seals 2

The mechanical seal structure is mainly composed of the following elements,

1. Stationary ring (stationary ring)

2. Rotating ring (moving ring)

3. Elastic element

4. Spring seat

5. Set screw

6. Rotary ring auxiliary seal ring

7. Stationary ring auxiliary seal ring

The anti rotation pin is fixed on the gland to prevent the stationary ring from rotating.

Mechanical seal has the advantages of reliable sealing performance, small leakage, long service life, less power loss and wide application range. It is widely used in various technical fields, especially in the working conditions of high speed, high pressure difference and expensive, toxic and highly corrosive process media. At the same time, mechanical seal is one of the weakest links of the equipment.

In order to prolong its service life, in addition to choosing the right friction pair material and the right end face specific pressure, the correct installation and maintenance can also play an important role.

In this paper, through the practice of daily maintenance, the main causes of mechanical seal failure and leakage are analyzed. 

Cause analysis of mechanical seal failure and leakage

There are various types and models of mechanical seals used in chemical equipment, but there are five main leakage points:

① Seal between shaft sleeve and shaft;

② Seal between moving ring and shaft sleeve;

③ Sealing between dynamic and static rings;

④ Sealing between the stationary ring and the stationary ring seat;

⑤ Seal the seal between the end cover and the pump body.

Main Common Malfunction Causes of Mechanical Seals 3

Mechanical seal leakage caused by the wear of the end face of the dynamic and static ring

No matter which type of mechanical seal, the main feature is that the sealing face is perpendicular to the rotating axis, that is to say, the axial seal which is easy to leak is changed into the end seal which is not easy to leak. Therefore, the main form of mechanical seal failure is the wear failure between static and dynamic rings. The end friction pairs of the dynamic and static rings are mainly compressed by the spring thrust to prevent leakage. The tighter the dynamic and static rings are, the less likely they are to leak, but the friction between them also increases. The contact surfaces of the dynamic and static rings will wear quickly under the action of large friction, and finally fail to leak.

Mechanical seal leakage due to unstable process conditions and wrong installation

The vibration caused by unstable process conditions and poor installation, and the instantaneous disconnection of equipment evacuation and vaporization will lead to the damage of the liquid film between the dynamic and static rings of the mechanical seal, which will make the mechanical seal run “dry” under the condition of no lubrication. The temperature of the seal ring will rise rapidly, some of which will burn directly, some of which will be cooled sharply when the pump returns to normal working state, forming thermal shock and fragmentation. The poor flushing fluid and conditions will also cause thermal shock, which will lead to radial cracks in the seal ring and increase the wear failure of the dynamic and static rings. At the same time, when the temperature of graphite ring exceeds the service temperature, the crystal will precipitate on the surface of graphite ring, and carbonization will occur near the friction pair with higher temperature, and the particles will enter into the friction pair to make the dynamic and static ring wear out rapidly.

Failure of sealing ring of mechanical seal is also the main cause of seal leakage

The assembly of the sealing ring of the dynamic and static rings is askew; the surface finish of the shaft or sleeve matched with the sealing ring is not enough, or the matching size is too small; the physical or chemical reaction between the sealing ring and the sealing medium, corrosion, deformation, aging, etc. can lead to leakage.

Mechanical seal leakage due to improper assembly

Before the assembly of mechanical seal, the cleaning of mechanical seal components is not clean, the components are bruised or scratched; the assembly is not in place; the spring assembly is biased, the fastening screws are not fastened; the mechanical seal is damaged during disassembly, etc., which are all the reasons for the early failure of mechanical seal.

Leakage of mechanical seal caused by improper selection and design of mechanical seal

Due to the diversity of process medium characteristics in chemical plant, improper selection of mechanical seal design, small and large pressure ratio of seal end face or large shrinkage of seal material, it is very easy to cause mechanical seal failure and leakage.

Solutions

According to the above analysis, the following measures and maintenance methods should be taken to prolong the service life of mechanical seal.

Spring compression adjustment

Adjusting the compression amount of spring is to adjust the specific pressure of the end face of mechanical seal, which is related to the important parameters of seal performance and service life, as well as the structural type of seal, spring size and medium pressure. If the specific pressure of the end face is too large, the friction pair will be damaged; if the specific pressure is too small, it is easy to leak, so the manufacturer usually gives a suitable range, generally 3-6kg / cm2. The free length of the spring a, the spring stiffness K (the load to bear when generating unit compression), and the specified specific pressure P are all parameters given by the manufacturer. When the compressed dimension is B, then p / (a-b) = k, and B = A-P / K, which is the compressed dimension of spring installation. If the size of the spring after installation is too large, the thickness of the adjusting pad can be increased between the spring seat and the spring. If the size is too small, the thickness of the adjusting pad can be reduced. The thickness of the adjusting pad shall be measured with a micrometer.

Tightness of moving ring seal ring

It is harmful and useless that the seal ring of the moving ring is too tight. First, it will aggravate the wear between the seal ring and the shaft sleeve and cause premature leakage; second, it will increase the resistance of the axial adjustment and movement of the moving ring, which can not be adjusted in time when the working condition changes frequently; third, the spring will be easily damaged due to excessive fatigue; fourth, it will deform the seal ring of the moving ring and affect the sealing effect. In order to ensure the floating property of the moving ring, its inner diameter is 0.5-1mm larger than the shaft diameter, which is used to compensate the vibration and deflection of the shaft, but the clearance should not be too large, otherwise the sealing ring of the moving ring will be clamped in and the mechanical performance of the mechanical seal will be damaged. The tightness of the sealing ring shall be subject to the pressure of one hand after applying lubricant.

Tightness of static ring seal ring

The static ring seal is basically in a static state, and the sealing effect is better if it is relatively tight, but too tight will lead to: first, the static ring seal will be deformed excessively, which will affect the sealing effect; second, the static ring material is mostly graphite, which is generally brittle, and the excessive stress will easily lead to fragmentation; third, it is difficult to install and disassemble, which will easily damage the static ring. Therefore, the inner diameter of the static ring is generally 1-2mm larger than the shaft diameter, and the tightness of the sealing ring is subject to the pressure of both hands after the lubricant is applied. If the hand can be pressed in gently, it will be too loose; if the hand cannot be pressed in forcefully, it will be too tight.

Old and new seal replacement

Relatively speaking, the effect of using the new mechanical seal is better than the old one, but when the quality or material selection of the new mechanical seal is not right, the fitting size error will affect the sealing effect. In polymerizable and deep permeable media, if there is no excessive wear on the static ring (when the sealing surface is cracked, dropped, scratched, pockmarked, flash and eccentric wear, and the scratched and pockmarked points penetrate the entire sealing face, it is called excessive wear), it is better not to replace it. Because the static ring is in a static state for a long time in the static ring seat, the polymer and impurities are deposited as a whole, which plays a better sealing role.

Main Common Malfunction Causes of Mechanical Seals 4

Overhaul

Once the mechanical seal leaks, do not rush to dismantle and repair it. Sometimes the seal may not be damaged. Only adjust the working condition or adjust the seal properly can eliminate the leakage. For example, adjust the compression amount of spring, eliminate the vibration of running equipment, remove the scale that makes the spring lose its elasticity and the scale on the friction pairs of dynamic and static rings. In this way, it can not only avoid waste but also solve practical problems. At the same time, it can verify its fault judgment ability and accumulate maintenance experience to improve maintenance quality.

error: Content is protected !!
en_USEnglish
zh_CN简体中文 es_ESEspañol hi_INहिन्दी arالعربية pt_BRPortuguês do Brasil ru_RUРусский ja日本語 jv_IDBasa Jawa de_DEDeutsch ko_KR한국어 fr_FRFrançais tr_TRTürkçe pl_PLPolski viTiếng Việt en_USEnglish